Sonoma State University
Department of Physics and Astronomy


Dr. Joe Tenn New Department Chair

Dr. Joseph S. Tenn has been appointed chair of the Sonoma State University Department of Physics and Astronomy.

Dr. Tenn will lead the department through a major transition period, as several long-time faculty members retire and a new generation begins. "We will miss Duncan Poland, who led us for many years,” he notes. “I see my primary jobs as making it as easy as possible for Profs. Enrique Izaguirre and Brock Weiss to get off to a strong start and recruiting more new faculty. We will add a third new member of the department in 2002. Besides the retirements we have lost most of the services of Saeid Rahimi, whose appointment as Dean of the School of Science and Technology (formerly Natural Sciences) is a gain for the School but a loss for the Department.”

Dr. Tenn is the founder of several department traditions: the “What Physicists Do” series, which he is again directing this year; the Physics Major, the department’s annual newsletter; and the annual after-commencement photographs of students and faculty. He is wearing several hats this year, as he is also continuing as Department Advisor for the year 2001-02.


Please send comments, additions, corrections, and questions to